//
you're reading...
New to Blogging

Why, Hello There!

Well this is my first attempt at blogging. So here it goes. My name is Matthew Busby, hence the whole busy busby thing, and am currently a senior at the University of Tennessee studying Advertising. I have had many ups and downs as I have progressed through my college career. Let’s start with my history shall we? I started UT as a finance major, and if you know anything about me, then let’s just say that was not exactly my cup of tea. Next came the wonderful and stressful world of graphic design. I had a blast and it gave me the foundations of Adobe products and really made me think outside the box. That was great! Unfortunately, there were, and still are, many better designers than myself so I was cut and changed to advertising. This is where I found my niche.

Advertising at UT is a mix between the business world and the creative world. I have loved every second of it. I have (mostly) found what I want to do in life, but I am trying to be flexible about it all. I do not want to put my eggs in one basket. Let’s just say that what I want to do after college is still a mystery, but I am willing to give anything a try. To start off my adventure, I have gained two different internships at Scripps Networks Interactive.If you don’t know who they are, then I will tell you. They are the parent company that brings you the finer things in life like HGTV, Food Network and The Travel Channel. The first internship was in a group called Branded Entertainment where it was part of my job to find new clients as well as come up with ideas for new vignettes, a commercial with a story attached. The second internship is in the department of Affiliate Sales where I currently work. I mainly deal with VOD (Video on Demand) and Syndications like Hulu. I have met great people and enjoy what I do.

Why am I creating this blog? Well, that’s easy. Firstly, it’s mandatory for my Social Media class, and I want to get a good grade. Secondly, it’s because I want to try out new things and see how well I am able to adapt to a new(ish) type of way to communicate with the masses (that’s you). I will try to make this blog as interesting as possible and hopefully shed a light on the ever-growing industry that is Social Media and my great interest in the Advertising industry.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Why, Hello There!

  1. Matt, I really like the simple, yet creative design of your blog. GREAT first post! I look forward to reading your posts this semester. Best of luck!

    Posted by Dr. C | August 30, 2012, 5:15 pm
  2. Wow Matthew! I love your blog already because even though I don’t know you I already have a great sense of your personality. You seem fun, honest, and driven. I can’t wait to see your future posts. Good luck with the class and your future in the advertising world!

    Posted by Anon | August 31, 2012, 3:54 am

Leave a Reply

