//
you're reading...
Technology, Uncategorized

The Next Generation

Our society seems to always be caught up in the “next big thing.” We wait impatiently for the next device to come out that is almost identical to the previous version. It is just a little bit faster and a little bit better. Does that matter? Yes, obviously it does or we would not pre-order or buy them the first minute that these products arrive in stores. At the same time, we all love to be the first person to have a new gadget.

I am sad to say that I am one of these people. I love to shell out the hundreds of dollars (if I have it) to buy something that looks almost exactly like my old device. Take the new iPhone 5 for example. I watched my twitter timeline roll as Apple released the new product (that everyone knew was coming). I was (and still am) excited about the new release, but how different is it from my previous iPhone (iPhone 4). It also makes me sad to think that a few years ago I shelled out the cash to buy the new Iphone 4. Now, it is completely free with a contract… Awesome…

Anyways, my point is that I always feel like we (as a society) are waiting for the next upgrade constantly. I can already assume, if Apple keeps up its current strategy, that around this time next year there will be a new phone waiting for me if I want it.

If you want to read about the exact updates of Apple, then check here.

Now, the gaming systems of the current generation are slowly becoming obsolete. The news of of the Wii U was just released yesterday. This is the start of another console war. I have a feeling we are about to hear more about the new Xbox and PlayStation as well. Just a hunch…
If you want to read more about the upcoming release of the Wii U, then check here.

All you need to know about Wii U

Also, the Wii U’s new remote could be considered a new type of Second Screen. I have to say that I am pretty impressed by the way it looks and how it will be used to interact with game play.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

