//
you're reading...
Technology, Uncategorized

iOS 6 is here!

As of last week the new iPhone 5 has been announced. This was not the only major thing Apple came out with that day. Their team also spoke of a new iOS update for the iPhone and iPad.

So here is what you need to know. The new iOS 6 is available for download as of today. I am still at work and have not been able to update just yet but I can still give you the awesome info. If you have one of those older out of date iPhones like I do (iPhone 4S, iPhone 4, or [oh geez] the iPhone 3G) then this iOS update can work for you. Also, if you are purchasing the new iPhone 5, then don’t worry about this update because you will already have it.

The new update includes Maps. That’s right, Google Maps is no longer being used as Apple has created its own mapping GPS system with a little turn-by-turn assistance from the people at TomTom. Also, if your wondering what those giant skyscrapers have in its building while it passes you by, well then you are in luck. The app is now integrated with Yelp.

The other main update is a new app called Passbook. This little trinket (that’s right, trinket) is like a virtual wallet. It can hold all of your data relating to gift cards, coupons, movie tickets, plane tickets, etc… Your phone is now your own personal helper that can just be scanned wherever you decide to go.

Other updates include Facebook integration where it just makes it easier to do the things that you already do with your handy dandy smartphone. Most likely, this will make the Facebook interface easier to navigate and hopefully make it a much faster application. Siri also got a great update that I wouldn’t know about because I still have the iPhone 4. So if you like Siri, then congratulations this is the update for you! Also, FaceTime is now able to be used across cellular networks, unless you are like me and have AT&T.

If anyone has updated their phones yet, I would love for you to let me know what you think about it. Comments are always welcome down below!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “iOS 6 is here!

  1. Great post, Matt. On a personal note, I have yet to upgrade to iOS 6 but plan to soon. Let me know if you recommend it. Your blog is really great. I look forwarding to reading it each week.

    Posted by Dr. C | September 23, 2012, 1:23 pm
    • I did end up updating my phone. To me, not much changed, and I don’t care for the new maps. I know they are probably still working on it, but it seems they have a little ways to go to match up to Google.

      Posted by musby | September 23, 2012, 10:37 pm

Leave a Reply

