//
you're reading...
Social Media

Are You Watching?

This is considered an addition to my “Second Screen” post except that is more about how excited I am for December as I will be watching so much TV!

As I was thinking about how I only have about a month left of classes this semester, I had an epiphany. Due to all the work I have had to do this semester to stay on top of things, I began to think about all the TV shows that I have missed this past year. I am a lover of TV. I figured out that in December I will be able to catch up on all my shows. That’s a whole month! It is going to be a great unproductive period in my life. I’m looking at you, Walking Dead and Game of Thrones.

I wil say that when I watch TV, I am not just watching TV. I typically have my computer out and looking up stuff on social media sites or just googling random things. Typically, it is about the show that I am watching. I have a few favorite TV shows right now like Once Upon a Time and 666 Park Avenue. I love them both for very different reasons. Once Upon a Time is like the world that I always fantasized about when I was a little kid. Now, I am watching in glorious HD every Sunday night. I love the thrill and the adrenaline rush that 666 Park Avenue gets me. I know it is not doing so well at the 10pm spot on Sundays, but I feel like Nielsen is still getting my viewing time (although I’m not part of the “Nielsen Family”).

I am one of those people who rarely sits down and watches scheduled programming on a specific day of the week except Sundays which I like to call my “relaxation day.” Basically, it means that I am lazy and stay in my cozy apartment all day while doing laundry and watching movies. Anyway, I believe that my generation is slowly moving towards online consumption rather than TV watching on a certain date. But how does social media play a part? Well, this infographic will show you!

I find it pretty fascinating to see what people are talking about through social media. Especially how quickly it has grown. I mean, come on, 171% is a huge number! I find it interesting that people who use Facebook talk more about TV shows while Twitter talks about sports and news more often. I do love how quickly I can information about a game or what is happening in my area as soon as it happens, thanks to Twitter.

Well, that is it for me today. I have a lot of projects to finish up before tomorrow. Everyone, have a good one!

This also needs to come back into my life very soon.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

